3 Stars · ARC Review · Contemporary

Beastly Lights by Theresa Jane

*ARC provided by Author for honest review*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Freya): 20s?

Hero (Liam): 28yrs old

Plot: 3/5

Grovel: pretty good

Cheating: none

HEA: yes with pregnancy

Triggers: none

 

Average score: 3/5

Best Line: You can’t buy my forgiveness.

Worst Line: so many just from the first few chapters:

how anyone could fall in love with a man whose hairline was already receding at twenty-five is beyond me.

 And

I stole the coffee from Mason anyway.

 And

 All I wanted was to steal twenty dollars from his wallet, and instead I got an unwanted job

Personal Review:

A pretty good romance from a new author. It took a while for the heroine to grow on me because I did not like her at all in the beginning. I did like the hero’s grovel action but did become disappointed in some of his behaviour.

Random Ramblings

  • Just as I was starting to like the heroine she goes and makes a shallow and bitchy comment
  • And then she goes and steals from her brother….after breaking into his home

bitch-please031

  • The blurb was misleading as I read it believing it stated that Liam randomly won the prize of having Freya as a maid when in fact he was the one who initiated it and suggested that she should be a prize in the first place. Here’s a bit of the blurb:

That is, until a drunken night gets out of hand and he finds himself with the winning hand in a poker game, and the prize is a feisty redhead.

  • It was harsh that the adoption didn’t go through
  • Davis was a sweetie
  • I was grateful that the author didn’t subject me to the typical visions of a rockstar manwhore
  • The articles were repetitive and annoying
  • I’m pleased they waited to have sex
  • I seriously don’t get why authors do an epilogue in the future without showing any actual progress like having kids or getting married. It’s a waste, in my opinion, to have the story ending with a proposal or a pregnancy. It is like setting up a joke but then not finishing it…I NEED CLOSURE!!

Overall Feeling:

when-brooks-des-found-closure-after-final-rose

Leave a Reply

