1 Star · Contemporary · DNF

Menace by J.M. Darhower

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Morgan): 21yrs old?

Hero (Lorenzo): 36yrs old

Plot: 1/5

Grovel: DNF

Cheating: DNF

HEA: DNF

Triggers: h prostitutes herself and there are explicit details of these scenes

Average score: 1/5

Best Line: none

Worst Line: the in-detail descriptions of h prostituting herself and then saying this: (I

know, I know… ugh, ick, gross…).

Personal Review:

I DNF’d this story because it was just making me angry. I tried my best to continue waiting for a modicum of strength in the h or a redeemable quality in the H but to no avail. Surely, to be classed as a ‘romance’, dark or not, there needs to be something in the story that will be positive.

Random Ramblings

  • Powerful intro
  • I smiled when she got one over on him
  • Dark romances doesn’t mean the reader has to read about heroes or heroines being raped – it can be mentioned or hinted at but I don’t want to be visualising it
  • If the h is someone who is used to the hard world then why didn’t she realise she was being strung along by the police???!!!

Overall Feeling:

6gvjw

Leave a Reply

