5 Stars · Contemporary · Suspense

Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet #1) by Aly Martinez

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Elisabeth): 31yrs old

Hero (Roman): 32yrs old

Plot: 5/5

Grovel: yes

Cheating: no – both celibate during 2yr separation

HEA: cliffhanger – 2 part story

Triggers: miscarriages

Average score: 5/5

Best Line: “But I’d never, not once, seen Elisabeth with just my eyes. My heart was just as much a part of the way I viewed her as my retinas.

Worst Line: none

Personal Review:

This was a great emotional part one of a love story. This part introduced a husband and wife who went through several heartbreaking IVF treatments and became torn apart as a result. They found their way back to each other but also discovered a painful secret.

Random Ramblings

  • Wow, what a prologue
  • It was an interesting set up to read about 2 different couples in the same book
  • Although I do judge women for staying in domestic abuse relationships, I did feel for Clare
  • I was wondering what the connection would be between the two couples but I desperately did not want it to be the children – it would just get complicated and people would get hurt
  • The scene with ‘the guy at the top of the stairs’ was funny
  • I loved the H and his sister
  • I was sooo proud of the h because she recognised that Clare was the mother

Overall Feeling:

Can’t wait for the next book…

famc5jb

 

Leave a Reply

