2.5 Stars · Contemporary

Shane by Jessica Gadziala

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Lea): 2/5

Hero (Shane): 3/5

Plot: 2/5

Grovel: none

Cheating: none

HEA: yes with cute babies

Triggers: h had a fucked up childhood, h was raped multiple times by her abusive ex (no explicit details)

Average score: 2.5/5

Best Line: “I wasn’t raising boys,” Helen said with an unapologetic shrug. “I was raising men. Men who would become husbands and fathers one day. No woman wants to marry a man who can’t stick to boundaries. And no father can do a good job if he doesn’t learn about laying down the law.”

Worst Line: “I stayed…

Personal Review:

This romance had a great start but had a fairly lacklustre middle and ending. The epilogue with the kids was great though.

Random Ramblings

  • Again, thanks to the author for the list of triggers on her website
  • I am in love with Helen!!
  • I have to say, I was a little disappointed that Shane owned the property but pleased when he fixed it up for her
  • I enjoyed the family banter
  • I am not ashamed to say that I judge people who stay in abusive relationships – the h disappointed me with this considering she was always talking about how strong and independent she was

Overall Feeling:

dsppntmnt

Leave a Reply

