3 Stars · Contemporary

Last Day of My Life (Freebirds #4) by Lani Lynn Vale

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Winter):3/5

Hero (Jack): 3.5/5

Plot: 3.5

Grovel: none

Cheating: none AND hero was celibate during 7 year separation

HEA: yes

Triggers: almost-rape

Average score: 3/5

Best Lines:I fall in love with you more and more every day. Except yesterday. Yesterday you were pretty annoying. E-Card

 0c3a0c10-d9f3-0131-6c82-0aa0f90d87b4

Worst Lines: “What, are you on your rag or something?” – why is this the always go-to thing said by guys?!

really

Personal Review:

This was a romance between a married couple where the heroine was presumed dead 7 years ago but just had amnesia and is reunited with the hero. It was a pretty confusing read just because of the timeline as it felt like it jumped ahead quite a few times but I think this is just Lani’s writing style and I still don’t know if I like it much.

Random Ramblings:

  • It is unusual for me to read a series out of order but when I saw this title I realised that I somehow missed this book when I was reading the original series
  • This didn’t have the same emotional impact on me as Maya Bank’s “The Darkest Hour” but then again the heroine in this book is almost the opposite of the heroine in Maya’s book
  • The times jumps were a little disconcerting and for someone who had amnesia, she sure did accept everything everyone told her without question
  • The funeral song made me tear up

Overall Feeling:

This book was hard work to finish, I kept getting distracted because it wasn’t holding my attention

12909684

 

Leave a Reply

