1 Star · ARC Review · Contemporary

My Dirty Detour by Grace Risata

*ARC provided by Author*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Violet): an immature 34yr old

“I met a guy. His name is Rocky. I really like him but I don’t think he likes me back”

Hero (Rocky): a loudmouth 29yr old

Plot: DNF – did not hold my attention

Grovel: DNF

Cheating: DNF

HEA: DNF

Triggers: DNF

Average score: 1 star – DNF’d at 20%

Best Lines: h’s thoughts: “hope for the best, prepare for the worst”

tumblr_n9zr3k4a7w1tq4of6o1_500

Worst Lines: H describing h: “was she a short, pathetic-looking, ditz with fuzzy hair?” – h gets annoyed that he called her a ‘ditz’ but I am more annoyed that he called her ‘pathetic-looking’

rude

H to h: “you’re the woman. The man pays for things”

tumblr_mihzxnfb041qgt0c4o1_500

Personal Review:

Love story between a 34yr old female accountant (who is supposed to be funny but just comes across as trying too hard) and a 29yr old male ‘business-owner’ (who is very shouty!).

I still don’t understand why/how the h and H met and the story was too boring for me to continue with it.

The annoying bit:

h is not being paid for working for H

anigif_enhanced-16090-1411771407-14

I wanted the h to realise what she was doing and hoping it would go something like this

you-guys-are-getting-paid

6718494_orig

jlpm

Random Ramblings:

  • I liked Stella, everyone should have a sensible Stella in their lives
  • H was an asshole to h in the beginning and the h was a complete pushover
  • I don’t like the older h/younger H thing and never will

Overall Feeling:

2004

Leave a Reply

