2.5 Stars · Contemporary

Cash (The Henchmen 2) by Jessica Gadziala

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Willow): 2.5/5

Hero (Cash): 3/5 author admits he is a manwhore

Plot: 2/5 – didn’t hold my attention much

Grovel: none

Cheating: none

HEA: yes

Triggers: author goes into a lot of detail of the h’s past abuse (see authors link for triggers: http://www.jessicagadziala.com/triggers.html)

I love that the author took some time to list the triggers in her books!

2002 

Average score: 2.5/5

Best Line: “I don’t have sex with men who don’t like me.”

 Worst Line: so many wrong/bad ones in this book, I have just listed a few:

Don’t have any helmets, darling,” he said, tilting his head slightly when I got around him. “You’re gonna have to trust me,” he said – all I kept thinking was it’s not safe!

tumblr_myfvtgb1lo1t5ks5wo1_500

h’s thoughts: I never subscribed to sexism, but I also knew certain limitations came with my sex.

tumblr_inline_nkeqmn5vcv1r79k32

sexist-and-absurd

tumblr_m57nqo0iya1qgy1iqo1_r1_500

h’s thoughts about H: “He managed to belong to a bike gang and not be a chauvinistic pig.” – girrrl you need to get you hearing checked!

Personal Review:

This is supposed to be a love story between a badass woman approaching her 40s and a younger MC biker but I honestly don’t remember their ‘love’. It was more about sex and violence than love. Namely, the violence between the h and her ex-husband.

Ok, heres the thing: I HATE it when women stay with the men who emotionally and physically beat them – it’s a personal thing and I cannot understand why women do it to themselves. My opinion is an unpopular one but it comes from being a woman who has self-respect and knows the basics of ‘right’ and ‘wrong’. Yes, there are many reasons/excuses women tell themselves and others about why they might stay with their violent partner but you are still being beaten so why is your life not important?! Which is why this particular scene knocked off a star:

“My husband had beat me. I was a battered woman. I was a cliché. But there was nothing I could do about it. I did what every trapped, abused woman did at first- I stayed.”

giphy

YES THERE IS SOMETHING YOU CAN DO IN THIS SITUATION…..LEAVE/CALL THE POLICE/ANYTHING BUT STAYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

b18f8816acddb955343501333c7a5f89

If I ever had a mission in life it would be to remind women that they are people too and don’t deserve to be beaten by their supposed loved ones!

Random Ramblings:

  • Wolf is rocking the ‘strong, hot, silent type’ and I love it!

Overall Feeling:

Not empowering at all!

lunch-alone-61

Leave a Reply

