4 Star · Contemporary

Fighting Solitude by Aly Martinez

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Liv): 5/5

Hero (Quarry): 3.5/5 – bit of a manwhore

Plot: 4/5

Grovel: sort off

Cheating: see trigger

HEA: yes and it was great!

Triggers: H ‘hooks up with girls’ after some fights whilst living with h but not when they ‘officially’ get together

Average score: 4/5

Best Line: H’s thoughts about his manwhore-ish ways Fuck. I was a douchebag of a completely different variety. – thank you for admitting it!

h to H: That’s what I thought. You’re fooling yourself if you think I would ever be anything but a consolation prize. She’d always be in the back of your mind.” – this broke my heart

and so did this…

h to H (H does not have his hearing aide in so doesn’t hear the h say this): I don’t trust you. And I don’t know that I ever will. I do love you though. So I am hoping that will be enough…for as long as we last.

Worst Line: H’s thoughts about h: “She was the little sister I never had but would’ve killed to protect. No matter the price.– ew!

Personal Review:

This love story was between the youngest page brother and his best friend since the age of 10. They are best friends and stick together but dont actually get together until they are 24yrs old.

I knew I was in for a tough read with this one because the H has a girlfriend who is not the h even though the girlfriend dies…I still had to read/witness him kissing the girlfriend IN FRONT of the h! Although I am grateful that the author didn’t go into too much detail about the H’s and the girlfriend’s intimacy.

It was a good read. The h was one of my favourites because she was so strong and so realistic too!

Overall Feeling:

heartbreak

Leave a Reply

