3 Stars · ARC Review · Contemporary

Awakened by You by KL Stockton

*ARC provided by Author*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Skye): 3 stars (too perfect for me)

Hero (Clayton): 4 stars

Plot: 3 stars

Grovel: none although the H was on his knees at one point but that’s because he misjudged something and it ended up leaving me feeling like he was a wuss

Cheating: none

HEA: no epilogue but they never broke up since they got together at the beginning so no big payoff at all

Triggers: h was raped and beaten in the past

 Average score: 3/5

Best Quote: H to h: “I love you Skye. If at any time you feel that I am not giving you a choice or infringing your free will, kick me and tell me I am being an ass”

Worst Quote: h’s description of herself – With my slim figure, hair, tits and lips I am a walking talking Barbie doll.

Personal Review:

Story of a millionaire businessman and a millionaire artist who are both good-looking (I know because it’s mentioned quite a lot!). It is love at first sight. No major conflicts in the story. They meet, fall in love and get married….simple.

I did find myself skipping chunks in the middles because the story was dragging. At one point I felt it was over because they both said they loved each other and got engaged and there were no other issues….like seriously NO OTHER ISSUES!

Random Ramblings:

  • Regardless of the intention, it is annoying to read both the H and h describe themselves as good-looking and they don’t do it just once….let’s be real

tumblr_inline_nrja043ink1sb5wof_500

20021

  • Did not like the H calling the h ‘baby’ every time they have sex…she does have a name!
  • Loved that the H was the first to admit he had fallen in love
  • Art is great but I find it hard to believe that a sci-fi artist has the same celebrity status as pop-stars…so much so than even 10yr boys know who she is, paparazzi stalk her and she has millions of pounds!
  • Some BDSM elements in the story but they were a hit and miss for me

Overall Feeling:

20020

 

Leave a Reply

