Review Musings

A bit of a Rant

Ok, heads up, I am going to go on a bit of a rant. Be warned…the following rant is based on my personal opinions!

I am fed up with so-called romances which don’t even meet the basics of a romance! The basics of a romance are:

  • A happy ending
  • The hero and heroine actually having contact with each other for the significant portion of the book (and yes, this point has to be stressed as I have just read a ‘romance’ where the h and H don’t get together until the end!)
  • The romance has to leave me with GOOD feelings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Romance is escapism. I love the journey and it can be ‘dark’ and ‘gritty’ but I want to be left with a good feeling.

This rant has come about from reading a few arc-provided ‘romances’ which I wouldn’t even class as a romance because of the reasons above. I am getting sick of this. Yes it was my choice to review these but I also asked for ROMANCES to review!! Not suspense, thriller or contemporary solely but a good romance (maybe with touches of suspense). I try my best to warn authors that I am a picky reader and yet they still request reviews. When I provide a negative review (which I hate by the way!), the author becomes offended. Saying this though, I have had some more gracious authors who ‘take it on the chin’ which has made my respect for them go up.

I just want a good romance to read.

Is that too much to ask for?

so-mad-i-could

 

Leave a Reply

