1 Star · ARC Review · Suspense

Virgo’s Vice by Trish Jackson

*ARC provided by Author*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Lexie): 2/5

Hero (Billy): 1/5

Plot: 1/5

Grovel: none

Cheating: none

HEA: maybe

Triggers: rape, paedophile

 Average score: 1/5

Personal Review:

This was a struggle for me as I was not expecting the rape or paedophilia which made me physically sick but I made myself continue and finished it.

I just wished that the author had given a trigger warning for readers.

I wouldn’t class this as a romance, it is more of a suspense/thriller book (with a drop of romance) where the suspense is ‘is she going to be raped by the paedo’ so obviously it’s not my type of romance hence the one star.

I have read romances where the heroine was hurt in her childhood but I have not read a ‘romance’ where the heroine is forced to be around the rapist/abuser/paedo and not able to protect herself and tell others what happened. It jut creeped me out and gave me the heebie jeebies

Random Ramblings:

  • When Billy cleaned Lexie’s cut with his spit all I could think about was GERMS!!
  • There was a lot of questioning amongst all of the characters’ internal dialogues which started to become irritating
  • There were A LOT of stereotypes in this book which was brought to my attention when comments were made about people’s weight, race, looks and character
  • Why does Lexie question why someone brought condoms when they clearly informed everyone that the reason they brought condoms was because they hold a gallon of water…Lexie then wonders whether they are a sex addict. Seriously?!

Overall Feeling:

Disgust

20017

Link to Book:

Virgo’s Vice

Leave a Reply

