1 Star · ARC Review · Contemporary · DNF

Saving Toby by Suzanne McKenna

*ARC provided by Author*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Claudia): 3/5
Hero (Toby): 1/5
Plot: 3/5
Grovel: DNF
Cheating: DNF
HEA: DNF
Triggers: almost-rape by H

Average score: 1 star because DNF’d

Best Quote: “Outside my salon in a stretch limo with piña coladas and two first-class tickets to the Caribbean, where we’ll dance the nights away under the stars?”

 Worst Quote: “Abe gave you a job, huh? That Jew never even trusted me in the store.” (there were quite a few racist ones but I am too mad to list them)

Personal Review:

Love story about two young adults. I normally stay away from NA and YA romances but I agreed to read this for an honest review.

There were a couple of times that I almost DNF’d and it was mainly around the way the H was behaving (see Random Ramblings) but I persevered and I was pleasantly surprised by the h’s strength as she stood up to the H and did not immediately give in which I respect.

However I got to this line and I DNF’d because HE WAS ABOUT TO RAPE HER!!!! Cannot believe this shit:

“Jesus, Claude, it’s just sex. We’ve been dating for almost two months. How long are you going to make me wait?”

Personal Message to Toby:

Random Ramblings:

Yeah, Toby, it is strange calling your mother by her first name! I don’t mind it so much if there is no motherly love but you live with her AND she has cancer and you don’t call her “mum”?!

Come on Toby, why don’t you tell your friend Dev to stop being a racist!!!! AND STOP JOINING IN WITH THE RACIST SHIT YOU ASSHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was strange that Claudia is an ‘adult’ and yet still lived under her father’s thumb

Overall Feeling:

PISSED OFF!!!

20014

Leave a Reply

