ARC Review · Contemporary

Solving for Nic (Book 2 of Southern Style) by Lexxi Callahan

*ARC provided by Author for Honest Review*

Beware of Spoilers!

Star Ratings:

Heroine (Lizzie): 2/5 – I liked her focus on her career but I knew, inevitably, that she would change her future plans and bow down to the H which I am not ok with

Hero (Nic): 3/5 – he reminded me of the callous Heroes in the traditional harlequin romances but he had a soft spot for the h

Plot: 2.5/5

Grovel: none

Cheating: no – although the h admits to purposefully flirting with Other Man (OM) in front of OM’s wife and Nic

HEA: yes

Triggers: none

 Average score: 2.5

Best Quote: H to h What have you been up to lately?

Worst Quote: h’s internal dialogue after having sex with H for the first time She hadn’t expected her first time to be a religious experience” (there were quite a few bad ones in this book!)

Personal Review:

Ok so this book reminded me of the harlequin romances that I did not particularly like. Essentially there was a young immature heroine (who is supposedly smart but this wasn’t shown to us) who has a crush on an older Hero (I don’t think we ever find out his age but I’m guessing mid-30s). The H proceeds to buy her stuff and the h accepts. The H and h admit they are in love. Throw in some family drama and The End. I didn’t feel that there was anything special.

I did not like the ‘bitchiness’ feel between the lead females. I am used to reading romances where the heroines tend to get on with the other heroines in a series but this is the first that I have read books where they don’t seem to like each other which leaves me feeling unsettled.

I did not like Lizzie’s relationship with Rogan. She was purposely using the relationship to toy with the feelings of Nic and Angie.

Random Ramblings:

Did not like the drama between Angie and Rogan

Liked the pescetarian thing, it was different

Overall Feeling:

Meh – it left me feeling under-whelmed and I am not sure if I want to read the third book in the series as I do not want to DNF it but I will give it a go

2001

Leave a Reply

